top of page

M&P Project Gun 1.0 Pt. 1

When it comes to handguns, I typically don't modify them very much at all. My M&P has had the stock components with just the addition of stippling for over two years. Although, that has now changed. I wanted to put together more of a "custom" handgun while doing a bulk of the work myself. I like to tinker with things; it's a part of my personality.

One of the major changes I am sure you will notice is the milling out portion of the slide. Previously, I used to own a CZ 75 P-07 Duty handgun. I really enjoyed the way that the gun shot, and I think a big portion of this was due to the reduced reciprocating mass of the slide. The slide on that handgun is about half the size of an M&P slide. Therefore, you have less mass cycling which for me made it faster for transitions and follow up shots. I had less trigger time behind the CZ 75 than the M&P and I always shot a few tenths faster with the CZ on a much more consistent basis.

Long story short, I figured reducing the weight of the M&P slide may result in positive results. Of course I didn't invent or come up with this idea soley on my own. While looking for inspiration for customizing my M&P, I searched Google for images on custom M&P handguns, and I saw many of them with slides milled out. This made me think back to the CZ 75.

The next step was to get rid of the stock M&P sights. Until this point, I have been so unmotivated to modify the M&P that I didn't even bother to replace the sights before. I just took a black sharpie and marked out the two dots on the rear sight for better front sight acquisition. Now I have the Trijicon night sights which I like a lot more.

Stay tuned for more on the progress of this gun!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page