top of page

Initial Thoughts Trijicon MRO

The Trijicon MRO has recieved a lot of great feedback thus far. In my opinion, I would agree with a lot of the feedback that is out there about this optic. What attracted me to this optic is its wider objective lens. There's nothing more annoying than shooting through barriers in various shooting positions, and trying to find a dot through a small tube and lining up your target at the same time.

This is why the MRO got my attention, and it has a very enticing price point!

So far, I have used this optic in competition and the practice drills that I do on my own.

Observations-

- The large objective lens works as advertised. You bring the rifle up and the dot is there, and while shooting targets out at further ranges, you have a large field of view instead of tunnel vision. So if you had multiple targets in close proximity, you could see them all at once.

- The glass does have a slight blue tint to it but it's barely noticeable in my opinion.

- The 2MOA dot is perfect. I find that on the 3rd brightness setting, you can get a nice tight group and a solid zero if you're shooting for absolute accuracy. I didn't feel the need to shoot with the brightness setting any higher than 5 so far.

- The windage and elevation adjustments are pretty accurate. Although you have to be really attentive to the adjustments. When I first started making adjustments, I had already made a couple clicks before I realized how many I made. The adjustments can be heard and felt, but it's a very "fine" sound and feel. It's not a bad thing; it's great being able to use your case head on the cartridge to make adjustments. No more fumbling with caps and tools.

- The optic is very small and lightweight. I purchased the full co-witness mount and it works perfectly with the Magpul BUIS.

- Parallax--every optic has some amount of parallax in it. The MRO does have some parallax. I purposefully adjusted my cheek weld on the stock and moved my head around to see how much parallax would affect my groupings. Put it this way, the brightness setting affected my grouping size more than the parallax did.

In the last couple of days that I have owned this optic, I have shot over 500 rounds with it mounted on the MCX. I haven't found anything with this optic that I don't like. If Trijicon told me I had to change one thing about the optic, I would tell them to make the adjustments a little more pronounced in feel.

If you are looking to buy a new red dot, I would highly suggest this optic. If you can't afford one right now, save your money and don't settle for cheap optics. You know the saying..."buy once, cry once".

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page